Residence Address

Wisconsin law requires every resident or nonresident intermediary (agent) to provide their current residence and/or mailing address. Each licensee shall, within 30 days, notify the commissioner in writing of any change of residence, mailing address, and/or business address. A specific form is not required for this notification. Address changes can be submitted to www.nipr.com.

Resident Agent Moving to Another State

A licensed resident agent, after becoming a resident of another state, may retain authority under the resident license for a maximum of 60 days, at which time all authority granted under the resident license shall cease. A letter of clearance from Wisconsin is not needed.

Nonresident Agent Moving to Wisconsin

A licensed nonresident agent, after becoming a Wisconsin resident, may retain authority under the nonresident agent license for a maximum of 60 days, at which time all authority granted under the nonresident license shall cease. Individuals must submit form OCI 11-041R Resident Insurance Agent License Application Without Examination with the appropriate fee in order to obtain their resident license within one year to avoid prelicensing education and the licensing examinations.

Nonresident Agent Moving to Another State

A licensed nonresident agent, after becoming a resident of a state other than Wisconsin, may retain licensing authority under the nonresident license for a maximum of 60 days, at which time all authority granted under the nonresident license shall cease, unless evidence of current license status from the new state of residence is provided to the Agent Licensing Section. The agent can submit a copy of the new resident license and update the address by e-mail at ociagentlicensing@wisconsin.gov.