Once an individual license is issued, agents must immediately contact all companies they intend to do business with in Wisconsin and instruct them to be appointed pursuant to s. Ins 6.57, Wis. Adm. Code. Information on the solicitation of variable contracts and continuing education is available by clicking on each link. Agents can view their license status and/or print a license at any time at our Web site.
Nonresidents are asked to review the Intermediary's Guide to Wisconsin Insurance Law (opens in new window). The law manual is written as a guide for those who are preparing for insurance exams, those who want to keep up-to-date on Wisconsin law, and to provide nonresident agents with necessary information about the regulations in Wisconsin. The office will update the manual periodically as the statutes and rules change. Those who prefer a hard copy by mail can send a written request and a check for $3.00 payable to the Agent Licensing Section, P.O. Box 7872, Madison, Wisconsin 53707-7872.
The Commissioner's Office prepares a quarterly newsletter entitled the Wisconsin Insurance News. It is intended to assist agents in their ongoing study of our regulations and provide other pertinent information with regard to matters of interest to insurance professionals. Those without access to the World Wide Web may contact this office after the 15th of every calendar quarter and we will provide a hardcopy version of the most recent edition.
Regulation fees and continuing education, if required, are due by the expiration date identified on the license. Notices are mailed to all agents prior to that date.
Wisconsin law requires agents to notify OCI in writing within 30 days of any name or residence and/or mailing address change, administrative action by another state department, or any criminal conviction. E-mail changes and/or information to firstname.lastname@example.org. To assure accuracy of all records, we require all correspondence to include the license number and printed or typed full name.